Home Forums MBA Admission Admissions

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    marc1838
    Participant

Although I scored fairly well on my GMAT (710, 96th percentile quant adn 90+ verbal), my overall GPA was weak at a 2.5, despite a 3.2 finance GPA. I’ve been doing I-banking for the past 3 years for a top international firm and have several extracurricular activities. Do I have any shot at top 20 schools?

Hi and thanks for your inquiry.

Although I scored fairly well on my GMAT (710, 96th percentile quant adn 90+ verbal), my overall GPA was weak at a 2.5, despite a 3.2 finance GPA. I’ve been doing I-banking for the past 3 years for a top international firm and have several extracurricular activities. Do I have any shot at top 20 schools?

Good question. The short answer is yes. An applicant with an area of weakness but other strong areas (it sounds like work experience and extracurriculars are strengths) can gain admission to a top school. It certainly won’t hurt that you have a good GMAT score to mitigate your GPA and demonstrate you can handle the b-school curriculum.

Best of luck with your applications!

Sincerely,

David Petersam
    DPetersam@admissionsconsultants.com

Admissions committee experience from the top b-schools

AdmissionsConsultants

blue329
    Participant

Hi David,

I have a few questions regarding the application process….

Regarding filling application forms, I am wondering whether most people handwrite or type? If type, do most people use acrobat editer or typewriter?

I heard that it looks more professional if you type. But I can’t figure out how to use acrobat editer and it’s becoming a hazzle for me because I am running out of time writing up other application items…..

Also, some school ask what other schools you apply to on the form. Do they use that info to judge whether to accept you or not? Do they have a way to verify which schools you did apply to? (through GMAT report perhaps?)