Home Forums MBA Executive MBA Will I get in?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    jbmcleod03
    Participant

Hi,
    I originally posted this in another thread, but this one seems more appropriate. I am a 29 year old and graduated from Texas A&M University in 2003 My cumulative undergraduate GPA was awful (2.5) but i worked full time in addition to a full course load and i was the primary care giver to my only parent who was very ill. He also just so happened to pass away in the middle of my senior year. I completely put myself through college and managed to finish with zero debt. I my first 5 years out of school I was an area manager for a furniture company. Had lots of duties and managed lots of people, involved in all the finances, managed a budget, yada yada. Went to work in the oil and gas industry almost 2 years ago as an manufacturing operations manager. I manage a budget of 50 million, manage lots of people, currently leading a team of management through an ERP implementation.
    My question is: I am applying for admission to the EMBA programs at the Mays Business School (TX A&M) and the Bauer College of Business (University of Houston), I have written excellent essays including the additional essay which I chose to explain all of the adversity I faced while working towards my undergrad degree. Do you think I will get in to either?
    Thank you for any insight you can give.
    PS. I have 8-10 years management experience and my company is going to fully fund My tuition for my EMBA.

jbmcleod03
    Participant

Still have not heard anything yet, although I hope to hear something soon. I had a pre-application interview with the asst. director of admissions that went well. He suggested I make some changes to my resume and suggested that I also write the optional essay for my application. So, I am keeping my fingers crossed hoping for the best. Did you set up a pre-application review?

jbmcleod03
    Participant