Home Forums Graduate School International Student from Romania: What are my chances?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Tofayel 6 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

fantassyo
    Participant

Hello,

I am a 21 year student from Romania in my senior year pursuing a BA in International Relations and European Studies. My most probable GPA will be 4. I have worked for the Romanian Ministry of Foreign Affairs when it organized this spring the NATO summit. I have done a 5 months internship at UN Information Center in Romania. In my first year of college I also worked as a journalist for nationwide magazine.
    Now I am doing another 3 month one at the German Marshall Fund office in Bucharest.

I have published abroad.

I took part a consideral numebr of international conferences, summerschools, and workshops. I am an active member of the first human rights NGO in Romania, and I am doing voluntary work for the Institute for the study of the crimes Communist era in Romania.

I have won a bunch of essay contest on relevant issue to international relations. I have gone on two study visit two Bruxelles in which I saw the EU’s institutions and NATO’s HQ.

This summer I represented Romania at a high profile forum on the future of European construction.

IELTS band 8

I just took today the GRE test: 510V 770Q, the verbal is a little low, I know, but would this matter.

I posses three excellent rec. letters.

I applied to:
    -SIPA, Columbia
    -SAIS, John Hopkins
    -Fletcher, Tuffs
    -Elliot School, George Washington University

So how do you grade my chances?

Thanks in advance[:)]

mod
    Keymaster

Hi fantassyo and welcome to Admissions Boards,

I believe that you have many strengths that can help mitigate your GRE but I don’t think you have anything to worry about if you communicated those effectively in your applications.

Best of luck!

Alfreda99
    Participant