Home Forums College Admission 2nd Time College Student – Low Completion %

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  ccharle2 2 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

ccharle2
    Participant

Hello. I was hoping someone might have some advice for me. I’m a second time college student. I went to Community College in Florida when I graduated High School, 20 years ago. (1996-2000) I didn’t do well, didn’t take it seriously. I received several F’s and W’s for the classes I took. Now I’ve returned to school, with the intention of making things right and finally earning my degree. I started in Spring 2015, have taken 9 classes over Spring-Summer-Fall and have a 4.0 GPA. Unfortunately my past mistakes seem to keep coming back to bite me. My completion ratio is pretty low when you factor in the classes I failed and dropped so long ago. This makes me ineligible for Financial Aid, and I’ve turned instead to private loans to get me through to my AA. I would like to go to USF in Tampa, however I have just learned that their admission requirement is a 67% completion ratio, and they take into account EVERYTHING from my transcript. I’m hovering closer to 50%. I should be able to graduate with my AA in May, but now I’m wondering if it’s even worth it. Maybe I should switch to a 2-year AS at the Community College instead if I will not be admitted to a 4-year university. The USF admissions people tell me there are no appeals or evaluations done, unless you can prove ‘mitigating circumstances’. My only excuse is that I was young and foolish.

My questions are these:
    1. Anything I can do here? Would a college in a different state do things differently? Anyone to appeal to? Or am I stuck with community college only.